Break Free

Over the past few years I’ve had some very high ups and incredible lows. I thought I was handling them quite well until Christmas this year when I had what can only be described as depression.  I’ve never had this before I’ve always been a very up positive person, sure I’ve had my days, we’ve all had them, but this was different.  I curled up with the cats, I didn’t want to celebrate christmas or even put out decorations.  

In the past few years there have been incredible highs in my life, a lot of wonderful travel all over the world, thanks to my incredible husband, a cottage by the ocean and a new obsession – surfing.  These highs have been unfortunately balanced with the deaths of my last remaining parent, my mother, and my beloved Aunt and what I can only describe as my career hitting an all time low.

Last night my friend Emma came over for a visit.  I’ve known Emma for a long time she is a wonderful young, amazing friend. She always manages to talk me into doing things that have been hovering on the edge of my mind but haven’t had the courage to actually put into practice – she’s the one who signed me up to do this blog. 

When we were thinking about a name for it I happened to look down at the “Oracle” cards we had been playing with – this is a beautiful set I bought years ago called “Mermaids and Dolphins” – one of the cards that I had pulled was sitting on the table and seemed to speak to me at the moment when Emma asked what I would like to call my blog – it is a picture of a beautiful Dolphin jumping out of the water with a beautiful pink sky behind it, “Break Free” is the title of the card and the message at the bottom “Try different ventures and experiences as a way to grow and learn”.  It seemed appropriate, I needed to escape my rut and blogging is certainly a new experience.

I have no idea what will happen over the next little while with this blog it might be that no one will even read this – but hopefully it will help me break free of the rut I’m in and give me some prospective on my life.

Dream Big,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Intentions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Break Free

  1. Nikki says:

    Beautiful! Just wish I’d been there to catch you when you started to fall so low, but I’m here to push you back up to where ever you want to go. x

  2. Lisa says:

    This is a fabulous idea! Good work on getting it started, and I look forward to reading more of your wonderful, creative entries. This blog should definitely be a “rut-buster” for you!

Leave a Reply

