Friendships

“Who knows why life unfolds the way it does; why we choose 1 path or another, share the way for a while or a day, then say good-bye.  There is no predictability here and less control than we might wish.  But there is the quiet raging of the heart, the knowing in the soul, the wisdom beneath the mind, accessible if we breath and turn inside”  Danna Faulds

I came across this quote a few weeks ago and this past week the part about friends sharing the way really hit home for me.  This week 2 friends that I haven’t seen in a while came into town – not together they don’t actually know each other but it did seem synronistic that this was the week they both came to town.

Mary Anne and I were good friends in high school and I actually dated 1 of her older brothers friends for a while way back when.  I sang  in her wedding and saw her start her family, with her 1st little boy. Then we just lost touch with each other – our paths went their separate ways, she moved to a small town north of Huntsville had another boy. I moved to the city met my husband and started my life here.

Two years ago I bumped into her brother at the friend-I-used-to-date-way-back-when’s book launch. For the past little while we’ve been catching up and renewing our friendship through emails, giving encouragement to each other and telling about our lives – a more sophisticated version of note passing in class.  We saw each other for the 1st time in 19 years this past tuesday.  Mary Anne came to Toronto for a provincial convention for her role on the town council – we met for lunch and it was wonderful how it seemed that  no time at all had passed. 

We both look a little older, well not to each other, she looks the same to me, but her friend John who had lunch with us was subjected to “girl” chat – at 1 point chastising me for speaking to fast – Mary Anne had a good laugh over that!  The ease at which we fell back into being together was really wonderful.  I hope that it’s not another 19 years before we see each other again.

My other friend Kristy, who I do see occasionally is the sister-in-law of my buddy Warren from high school days – the woman he married, Kari, is wonderful and  much to my delight I have become friends with both sisters. Although I did lose touch with them as well, Kari found me about 6 years ago and we’ve been back in touch ever since. Kristy lives north of Toronto and had to come into the city for an appointment, I offered to meet her so we could catch up. Her father drove her and while she was in her appointment he and I had a great time catching up on the many years.

I’m an only child and my cousins are the closest thing to brothers and sisters I have.  Over the years, my husband and I have become very close with 1 of my cousins and his amazing wife – it’s a totally different relationship when your adults. We have a great time when we get together lots of laughs. To my amazement this relationship has extended to their two children and their new families.

I think about the friends I’ve lost and have not been able to find again (there is 1 in particular that I mourn the loss of) and the new friends I’ve made, I thoroughly believe that people are put into your life at a certain time for a reason.  Either you are there to help, support and teach them or they are there for the same reasons for you.

I treasure all my friends, like my friend Lisa (42 years!) or Mary Anne, Nikki who is an ocean away and Ann, who I met 3 years ago and just clicked with and Emma who is young enough to think that anything is possible and reminds me of  that all the time. For however long we travel the same path, I hope that these friends feel that I contribute as much to their lives as they continue to do to mine.

Dream Big,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friendships

  1. Mary Anne says:

    Sam – Your bolg is AMAZING!!! I love it. Excellent. I am so inspired.
    Seeing you in Toronto was so great I am determined we will not let a long time pass before doing it again – I promise!
    Mary Anne

Leave a Reply

