Following your Bliss

Go confidently in the direction of you’re dreams.  Live the life that you’ve imagined. As you simplify your life the laws of the universe will also be simplier.  Thoreau

In my office on my vision board I have a post card from the surf / yoga retreat, on the front is a picture of blue water, and the words “Follow your Bliss”.

What are the repercussions of not following your intuition or “bliss”?  How do you find it again when you’ve ignored it for so long?

Do you remember when you were a kid that things would just happen because you had a total belief that they would? I do! Not everything, but sometimes the planets would align and everything would just be perfect.  As we get older we lose this ability, not totally, the intuition is always there hiding under the surface trying to help where it’s permitted. 

I wonder if this is why people always claim that teenage years are your best ones so you should treasure them?  I loved my social life as a teenager but the rest sucked so it must be something else that makes people think it’s great. Maybe it’s because as adults, we recognize on some level that intuition hasn’t been beaten down by the constraints of society at this point.

We’re pressured at an early age to know what we want to “be” when we grow up – we’re asked as teenagers.  Think about that, as a teenager your expected to know what you want to do for the rest of your life.  No wonder so many people are miserable in their day-to-day lives. You’re asking a person who biggest goal is checking out the parties for the weekend, trying to get drunk and find someone to have sex out with, to be responsible and plan the rest of their lives.   Plus, your not only asking them to plan their life, your also expecting  them to plan to get married, have a mortgage, have kids, take care of aging parents and these days save the planet! Terrifing thought! 

I’ve been thinking a lot about my intuition or bliss, lately, I can’t hear her.  I think I’ve reached the conclusion that what I chose for myself to do isn’t working out the way I needed or wanted it to.  Even the other choice I made a year ago (to do Home Staging) doesn’t seem to be panning out like I planned, so what do I do?  I need to hear that little voice in side of me again. 

I’m very lucky, I have a wonderful life filled with people who love me.  I’m afraid of letting them down, but most of all I’m afraid of letting myself down.  Being true to yourself  is really important.  Knowing that people who have listened to their intution are the happiest because they’ve followed their Bliss, I really envy them, so sure in what they want and what makes them happy.

I’m pretty sure that the road back to following your intution or bliss is not an easy one. Then making it work with what your life has become can be even tougher.  Let’s face it, most people don’t want to destroy what they already have, they just want to improve it.  That’s the hard part, reconciling the two parts. For now I’m going to stay the course I’ve laid out for myself, expand on my intention setting, do yoga, get my life in order and try to figure out my bliss.

I was reading Mary Anne’s, “Yes Turns” blog on direction.  She used an analogy of a car ride as getting to your final destination/bliss – you know where it is, you know how long the car ride is –  why would you stop 1/2 way and turn around?  Following your intution to that goal &  knowing that it’s the right way.  You may stop at the side of the road for awhile, you make take a small detour but eventually getting back on that path to where your bliss waits.  Sometimes I think we lose our way back to the orginal path, sometimes, I think the path diverges and other unexpected goals emerge.  The questions that we need to ask ourselves are:  What actions can we take this week to start making our intentions a reality? And, what has held us back before this? The answers might surprise us.  

I’m a believer in things are put in your life for a reason, the choices we make define who we are or can be.  One of my favorite mantras is “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” along with “when in doubt, paint it”, I guess now I’m going to have to add  “follow your bliss”.   

Now all I have to do is figure out what my “bliss” is then I can get back on the path to my destination.

Follow your bliss, Dream Big!

Samantha

This entry was posted in Intentions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Following your Bliss

  1. Mary Anne says:

    Amen, sister. I know EXACTLY what you are talking about!
    Mary Anne

Leave a Reply

