Hitting your limit

I’ve been having a really big problem lately.  It starts just after breakfast…what am I going to make for dinner?  It’s almost as if my brain doesn’t understand the question.

A few years ago my husband and I found ourselves with invitations for every day during the Christmas holidays.  beginning on the 24th of December and going straight through to the 1st of January.  While it was wonderful to see everyone, we were talking to a great many people and on that last day, Jan 1st, while at an open house, I found myself debating the differences of “pigs in a blanket” and “sausage rolls” with my friends mother.  Conversation had declined rapidly, time to leave.

What I’ve learned, is that I have exactly 8 days of small talk in me and that 9th day is the deal breaker! I’m beginning to feel like that with dinners – I’ve had 19 years of dinners in me and now I’ve hit that moment.  Now, I haven’t made dinner every night for 19 years, but I cook most nights.  Even in the summer in BBQ season I’m still planning and buying for dinner.

People have put me on those recipe exchanges I never seem to get any back, and of course I have tried and true recipes that I can always fall back on, but there are days when it just doesn’t seem to work.  My brain just won’t wrap around the task.  All I need is 1 protein, 1 carb and 1 veg, these are the basics, it’s not that difficult!  Pick the colourful things to put on the plate, the more colours the better, but it’s like my brain has gone on vacation without me.  I’m not sure where it’s gone, but I sure hope it brings a few new recipes with it when it comes back.

I guess  like “small talk” and “dinners” in life, you do have a limit to everything, even if you can do them in your sleep, at some point your brain is going on vacation and leaving you to hold the fort.  I guess trying something new for inspiration will help. 

I just found out that there is a 4 day Yoga Show & Conference going on beginning this Thursday until Sunday, for $15 dollars you get access to the show and 3 days of “garden classes” 1/2 hour classes.  The conference classes you have to register for but I think the show part might just be the “inspiration” I’m looking for. If nothing else I’ll get to try different types of yoga for 3 days for $15 dollars…..seems like a deal to me!

I don’t think setting limits is a bad thing what’s that old saying “too much of a good thing…..” I’ve never heard the rest of that sentence, but maybe there is some truth to just that part, maybe you get bored or over loaded and as in my case your brain just checks  out.

If anyone is interested in joining me for the 3 days of $15 classes (they start on Friday @ 1030 am and go until Sunday the link is on my sidebar) I’d love to have company, for the rest of you I’m sure you’ll be hearing all about it.

Also if you have any easy ideas/recipes that will get me through this “brain vacation” they would be appreciated, Please send!

Namaste,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Food/ Organic / Local, General, Yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hitting your limit

  1. Mary Anne says:

    I have a two minute limit for small talk and I have hated making dinner for twenty and a half of the last twenty-one years! Guess I need to stretch my limits.
    Mary Anne

Leave a Reply

