Reinventing yourself

What if you need or want to reinvent yourself but have no idea what to change into, or how to accomplish it?

A discussion with a director friend of ours the other day put this thought into perspective for me.  She mentioned that things hadn’t been going well, so she had put a date on how long she would continue to try to make it work.  When she hit the date, she would move on to see what else life had to offer.  Her date is still in the future and she just received a newly written script that she loves so the date has been put on the shelf, for now.  

This is something I think I’m going to have to try, again.  Last year I had decided that I would take a year off of trying to get my projects made.  I would concentrate on the other business that interested me, home staging.  Just as I made this decision I met a producer who was interested in my shows, he wanted to talk to me about them.  Just like that, my focus was split and neither venture got off the ground.

They say that you should follow your bliss.  I’ve said this before and I’m no closer to figuring out what my bliss is or how to follow it.  How does 1 go about reinventing yourself?  Madonna does it all the time, although the basics of who and what she is stay true, she’s an entertainer so she invents herself within that confine. What if you’re not Madonna?

I have two friends who have commented that I should write a book.  I’ve never been the type to think I can do this or even want to do this but maybe I should spend the time considering it.  There are so many great people out there who can actually write, and never get published.  I think it would be a little foolish of me to even attempt. That being said, I have 2 fabulous titles and my “Nom de Plume” already picked out.

I’ve been trying to figure out what I like to do.   If something I really enjoy could become a “cottage” industry.  I’m afraid that I’ve come to the conclusion that my hobbies aren’t really something I can mould into a business. I guess when I was 1st out of school I should have gone backpacking across Europe to find myself.  However, my career was doing just fine then, and backpacking for me is definitely overrated.  I’m the girl who needs running water and a flush toilet and hostels are not my hotel of choice. The career I choose then was great. I still really love the film and TV industry, which I think might be the problem, I’m not ready to give it up.

My friend, Mary Anne, writes this great blog about positive directions, I’m trying to see indecision as something positive.  Without knowing what it is that I want to do, it leaves almost everything open to experiment with.  However, sometimes you’re given too much choice, and it’s hard to narrow down what to put your focus on.  I’ve always wanted to write a script, maybe I’ll begin there. That way I’m still doing the things I love with the experience I have.

Of course, the other thing I love is taking houses that need a lot of TLC and making them happy places to be again, like our cottage.  The little shack was very sad when we first got it now it is a happy beautiful place to spend time. I’d need someone to bankroll me for that job, but it would be a great one. I also really like to reinvent furniture, there’s nothing that can’t be changed and made to look great with a paint brush and a can of paint. 

I’ll just have to take the time to experiment with some of the options available, while I figure out what I want to be when I grow up.  Have you reinvented yourself into something totally new? If so what? More importantly, HOW?  What is your secret?

Dreaming Big!

Samantha

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

