“That’s a classic”

I went to see the “A-Team” yesterday, I use to LOVE this series when I was a kid.  I remember using Hannibal’s favorite phrase for years “I love it when a plan comes together” and still find myself uttering these words every once and while.  The movie was really good, lots of things going boom, not a bad plot, a little slow in the beginning. However, between Bradley Cooper and Liam Neeson, there was certainly enough eye candy. A throughly enjoyable way to spend a few hours.

One of the funniest things was listening to the kids who sat down in the row behind me, a group of young guys, ’bout 14 or 15 years old.  Of course, they talked through the whole opening, the commercials were, for once, very entertaining.  A few of them sang along to  “My favorite things”  from The Sound of Music, that Dove uses for its ad campaign, I heard one remark, quite seriously “that’s a classic”.  There were oohs and ahhhs when Beyoncé came on the screen advertising her new perfume, it is a hot ad, even my husband stops talking to watch it.  They all agreed after the coming attractions we’re shown that it was going to be a good summer for movies.

There was something for everyone in the movie and I found myself laughing in a few places that the kids behind me didn’t, where sarcasm or a reference, was over their heads, they definitely enjoyed all the explosions.  I caught myself wondering how they would react to the 1980’s series if they could see it now, it was pretty good for its time but pales in comparison to todays CGI effects.  Of course, Liam Neeson carries off Hannibal even better than the amazing George Peppard did – Neeson being a little more hands on. 

I constantly find myself wondering why Hollywood chooses to remake old films and TV shows.  I think today, I realized that it’s all a nostalgia game.  The studio execs, not only see the potential of the all mighty dollar but when they were my age watching these programs and movies they were thinking “this is amazing”, now they think “that was amazing when I was 12, but we can do better! And I have the budget to make it so.”    It’s still  a bad reason to  not produce original projects.  However, yesterday was opening day for “The A-Team” and I was front and centre to see it.  Somebody is doing their job, nostalgia makes money.

I love it when a plan comes together!

Samantha

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “That’s a classic”

  1. I watched an episode of The Incredible Hulk last year on a retro channel and all I could think was – Oh my God how could I have ever watched that! However, I did like the A- Team. It was one of the few TV shows my brother and I could both agree on watching.
    Mary Anne

    • Break Free says:

      That my friend would be the difference between the ’70’s and the ’80’s – things had advanced in the 10 years from the Hulk to the A-team! LOL! : )

Leave a Reply

