Perseids Shower on the Milky Way

It’s here again, the Perseids meteor shower, for about a week up to August 11th you can see the falling stars in the northern hemisphere, culminating on Aug 11.  This week I’ve been braving the cold out doors and the bugs to watch the sky, and wish upon a falling star.

The cottage is in an area of PEI that is light pollutant free, we have a wonderful view of the Milky Way, it’s probably not a coincidence that our street is named Milky Way, at this time of the year, you can watch the Perseids shower almost every night. 

I remember the 1st time I ever heard or saw this phenomenon.  I was 15 years old and was spending a few weeks at my friend Lisa’s cottage.  She is a few years older than me and had been invited to a sauna party and we had convinced my parents to let me go with her.  The cottage is on a lake where you have boat access only, so two of her friends, Mikey and Ronnie, cruised by to pick us up for the party ’round 830ish.

It wasn’t a big party there was only 2 or 3 other couples there, that I remember, we sat in the sauna then we’d run out and plunge into the cold dark lake, it was one of the few times I wasn’t nervous about being out in the water in the dark.  At long last it was time to go home, so we bundled up in our warm clothes and Ron started the boat up and we began to drive slowly back to Lisa’s cottage.  Mikey had a huge boom box, even for that time, in the ’80, it was a pretty big one and an Aerosmith tape. 

As we slowly made our way through all the islands, past people’s cottages, we leaned our heads back on the seats to watch the stars fall.  Mikey was playing “Dream On” by Aerosmith and kept rewinding it every time the song ended so that the whole way home the stars were falling to the single soundtrack by Aerosmith.  To this day, every time I hear that song I am transported back to that boat in the middle of the lake with those 3 people, watching the Perseids showers for the 1st time ever.  It was magical.

Here at my cottage, the showers are as bright as they were 25 years ago and just as beautiful.  Last night, I was all alone here, my neighbours were out at a friends, and I decided to get “Dream On” by Aerosmith playing on my iPod and just hit the repeat button, so much easier than what Mikey had to do all those years ago, and watch some of the show. I saw a few before the urge to sleep and the whining cat pulled me back into the cottage. 

I hope you have a chance to watch this amazing meteor shower, it really should not be missed. You have until the 11th then you’ll have to catch it next year.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Cottage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perseids Shower on the Milky Way

  1. Nikki says:

    WOW! Nothing like that in polluted Dartford, lucky girl!!

Leave a Reply

