fly like an eagle

Eagle teaches us:
Ability to see the highest truth or highest viewpoint
Connection from earth to sky symbolising balance
Spiritual energy
That we have the ability to reach great heights when we find the courage to do so
That freedom is our birth right”

The eagle has been flying over the cottage almost everyday since I arrived back, sometimes twice.  I know he has a nest somewhere in the trees over by the marsh you can see him flying to and from it.  During the summer he’s hard to find, either he flies very early in the morning or very late in the evening so the sighting are rare.

There is a quite a bit of symbolism attached to eagles. When I put on facebook, that I was having quite a few sightings, a friend of mine found the quote at the top of the page and sent it to me.  They represent anything from carrying messages to the gods to granting one higher wisdom.  That IS something I could use, higher wisdom. I’m not sure how to apply the above lines to my everyday life the only one that actually resonates is the line about courage and how we can soar to higher heights by using it.  

I think we could all use a little more courage in our lives.  We’re all so afraid to do things that others will frown upon even if it’s what we truly want, we’re afraid to tell people how we feel about them incase we are rejected, we’re afraid to explore places by ourselves in case we get hurt or scared and I think most of all we’re afraid to spend time alone incase we find out that we really don’t like who we have become.

I know I’m guilty of a few of these things, I do try to tell people how I feel about them, there has been enough death in my life that I realize that it’s important for people to know.  I have spent a great deal of time by myself, a lot of reevaluation going on. I do explore places by myself but even that’s only under certain parameters. I think I’m going to have to work on this.  

Maybe I’m reading too much into seeing a bird of prey fly over my cottage on  a daily basis. Perhaps it’s just thinking that they do represent something higher that can make us re-evaluate our priorities. Or, maybe it’s just a gift to see him soar in the currents big and beautiful and free.

“Time keeps on slipping, slipping, slipping into the future, I want to fly like an eagle to the sea, I want to fly like an eagle let my spirit carry me, I want to fly like an eagle ’til I’m free” 

Fly like an Eagle: Steve Miller Band

Dreaming big from the East Coast

Samantha

This entry was posted in animals, Cottage, Intentions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to fly like an eagle

  1. Nikki says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!x

Leave a Reply

