ON for NS licence..is it worth it?

Yesterday I gave up my pretty Ontario Licence for a boring Nova Scotia one.  I should have asked to see the licence before I changed mine over.  Sorry to my friends here in NS but our licences in Ontario are far more attractive with the beautiful trillium in the middle of the card and that (horrible) picture of us beside it.  The back ground is pretty blue and white.

I don’t know what I expected but the beige thing with the picture of the chick w/ 2 chins was not what I signed up for.  Especially the 2 chins, I thought I got rid of that 2nd one! I was hoping that the cards would have the schooner on them like on the car plates and like ours have the trillium..but no such luck.

However, I have to say that NS has the whole process down to a finer art than ON.  There is 1 central place where everyone on Halifax goes, which would NOT work in TO.  It seemed a bit crazy but I decided to brave it.  1st finding the place is an adventure, in TO we have MTO’s here they call the place Access ….. had to look that one up.

When you enter there is a very nice but busy guy behind an information desk who gives you a number and sends you to wait in a room full of chairs (are you hearing this MTO people?) where you sit and wait for your number to show up on the screen, like you’re returning something to Ikea, #A144 got to window 10.

When you get to the window, an hour later, you are asked a whole bunch of questions.  They make you sign a form or two then you’re sent back to the chairs to wait for your number to appear again on the screen for your picture.  5 minutes later you’re called for the dreaded picture, you can smile and then they add a few chins, (not mine, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it, they were added in post!) and 5 minutes after that you are handed a brand new boring looking Nova Scotia licence.

It was a fairly painless process, except for the hour wait, I saw a few people leave in disgust at the wait but if this is the central place for Halifax when would be a better time to come? Surely it’s always busy and you have to wait for an hour?  Also, I was very excited to hear that my new boring licence is good for 5 years, yes Ontarians you read that correctly, the licence is good for 5 years (just thought that deserved to be repeated).  Of course, this means the 2 chins will follow me for the next 5 years, so there are pros and cons to this.

The next adventure will be getting my new health card, I’m not sure I’m ready for that one yet.   I don’t have one of the new green health cards from Ontario however my red and white one has been with me a long time and I will miss it, when it gets changed for ….. well, maybe I’ll ask to see one before I hand it over,  just in case.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ON for NS licence..is it worth it?

  1. Sheila says:

    Sam,
    Thanks for posting the link to your blog on FB.
    Kudos to you kiddo for so eloquently being able to share your thoughts and feelings about daily trials and tribulations. I do love your humourous attitude, if we cannot laugh at ourselves and life we certainly could not get through it!
    I can so relate to your life changing decision to move to another city far away from everything you know…there is both adventure and stress, some days are good and some days are really tough. My advice is simple…get out there, get involved and keep busy, it leaves less time to think things to death!
    My drivers license is now green and orange with a sunshine state map stamped on it. I was given the option to surrender my Ontario license or to take both a written and road exam…given the fact I’ve likely acquired some bad habits and its been more than 30 years since I did a driving test, surrendering my trillium was a no brainer decision.
    Keep blogging, talk soon.
    Sheila

    • Break Free says:

      Thanks Sheila, I’m not sure how long I’ll leave it attached to F/B -it’s kinda scary having everyone read it….I think we have similiar stories of change…except I think yours might be a little more sucessful than mine! LOL! Thanks for the comment and I really hope you do enjoy what I write – I’m getting back into it again. S

Leave a Reply

