MMMM Steak……

Last night my friend picked me up and we drove to Dartmouth to her favorite steak place, “Mic Mac Bar & Grill“.   We had been messaging each other all day trying to figure out where to go for dinner, there are a lot of great restaurants here and most of them are in walking distance from my place. The last message from her “OK, NOW I’m craving steak….pick you up at 6”, sounds good to me.  

I live in the pricy part of town where the restaurants are all fairly expensive.  I had been warned that this place we were going to wasn’t anything special. I was trying to figure out the last time I had steak….must have been about 3 months ago, november or december..it’s been awhile.  She picked me up and we were off to the wilds of Dartmouth.

I know for those of us from “away” it really doesn’t seem like such a big deal to go across the bridges to Dartmouth but for some reason it seems to be a big deal here – you have to pay a toll (I’m applying for my Macpass today) and it seems like it’s another world. 

We drove for about 20 minutes, winding our way down roads, some that I recognized some that I didn’t, before pulling into a very busy parking lot in front of a nondescript building.  It looked like an old house that has been changed into a restaurant.  My friend tells me that she’s been coming here for at least 20 years, her uncle used to bring her.

We walked into the busiest restaurant I think I’ve been in for a while, you have to find a table yourself and it’s a tough thing to do. There are 3 levels with a sea of tables and people I had no idea how we would ever find a place to sit, my friend, far less distracted by the ambiance and focused on a goal born from experience, quickly spotted an empty table in the “bar” area. 

The place smelled heavenly, grilled meat sizzling in the kitchen, the smell permeated the room and I could hear my stomach growling. As we claimed our table our waitress came over to take our drink order and was back 5 minutes later to take our dinner order.

We both decided to have the 14oz rib steak special – I have a piece that I’m going to have for lunch today that I just couldn’t get through. I think I am officially in love with this place – it’s straight out of the ’60’s with the captain’s chairs at every brown laminated table.  The only thing missing is the garlic bread, dill pickles and cottage cheese you get in places like this in TO.  Our server, Nicole, had been there 2 weeks and was very friendly. She took our order and bounced away to wait on other tables.

Our steaks arrived and we got down to the business of devouring, what has to be the best steak I’ve had since Brazil…NOTHING will top that steak in Sao Paulo, not even this however I think this will be an excellent substitution. Mashed potatoes, gravy, mushrooms and onions….and to top it off we shared their home-made apple crumble…..I think I have gone to heaven!! Comfort food!

There is NO substitute for a good steak dinner, and girl chat with a good friend.  We ended the night back at my place drinking wine and talking, it was the perfect night! Next time maybe we can talk her boyfriend into joining us. I can’t wait to do it again….soon.

Dreaming big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Food/ Organic / Local, friendship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MMMM Steak……

  1. Yvette says:

    talking him into going will never be an issue 🙂
    We’ll do it soon. Is today too soon? LOL
    OK, maybe in a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

