Miss Nova Scotia World Pageant

I did something I haven’t done in years, yesterday, I attended a beauty pageant.  The last one I went to was when I was in my early 20’s and my friend Colleen entered to become Miss Aurora.  Last night,  I watched my friends 16-year-old daughter, Skye, become a Miss Nova Scotia World winner.  There were 9 girls and 5 were picked to go to the finals in Toronto in July.

The girls were all beautiful and the pageant was surprisingly fast paced.  From the time they let us in the door to the crowing of the contestants was an hour.  They had an opening number where the girls had a choreographed dance to do, all of them dressed in black. They looked a little uncomfortable as they worked through the routine to Justin Beiber, (I was told on good authority that’s who it was) they had been taught, then on to the evening gowns, introductions and the platform that they stood for.  Yes, there was a bathing suit section and I’m waiting patiently for the rain to stop this morning so that I can go for my walk…..twice!! I don’t remember ever looking that great in a swimsuit.

Skye’s twin Iona competed in this same contest a few years ago when she was 14 years old.  She was crowned a Miss Nova Scotia World as well and at the big pageant in Toronto received Miss Congeniality. Both girls are smart, charming, and gorgeous.

All the contestants were beautiful and looked wonderful but in the end it is a contest and only 5 girls would be carrying on to the provincial finals in Toronto.  Congratulations to Skye and good luck in July at the Nationals.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in friendship, General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miss Nova Scotia World Pageant

  1. Mary Anne says:

    Yeah Skye! All the best in Toronto!

    Mary Anne

  2. Kristy says:

    I so wish I had been there to watch! It’s not the same seeing it on the net! I’m such a proud Auntie and I’m really really glad that you were to see it for me.

Leave a Reply

