Trial by fire

A few weeks ago I had a job interview for a scheduling position for a tech school here in Halifax.  Their scheduler had left suddenly and they needed someone who could step in and take over quickly.  My friend put my name up and I was given an interview.  Although, I wasn’t given this job, the reason being that I was over qualified, I was offered the alternative of teaching in this school.

Talk about going from something I’m over qualified to do to something  I have NO qualifications to do. But the more I thought about it the more appealing it became.  The Dean assured me that all I really need to do this job well is knowledge and an ability to relate to people.  She is the 4th person I’ve spoken to in the past few months that has suggested teaching to me, however, she’s the only one in a position to offer me work.

Yesterday I had a meeting with one of the heads of a department.  We talked about his current curriculum and what I might be comfortable teaching, what I know really well and what I don’t and we agreed that I would make up a plan and we would try a few classes to see if I liked what he wants me to do.  Also, he wants me to speak to another head to start a class in interviewing for our industry which is totally different from interviewing for a bank job, or pretty much any other job on the planet!

Then there’s my friend who recommended me for this in the 1st place.  He heads up a totally different department, we’ve been trying to get together for the past week to have a meeting to talk about what he needs.  After unsuccessfully trying to meet, he has invited me today to speak to his class about production and my experiences with it.  Trial by fire!!

I’m not sure how this is going to go, I’ve never done this before and I am nervous and the class is 3 hours long!! This certainly will give me a feeling for if I like this or not and if I’m good at it and if I have enough info to share…those who know me, know that I have NO problem speaking for 3 hours but who knows if it’s bull shit or not?!?

The more I’m thinking about this the more I’m loving the idea of teaching.  I think I can be good at this and I think I have a lot of experience that I can pass on.  With the 3 different departments I can carve out a really good niche for myself, something I can enjoy and love to do, something a little stable while the freelance stuff comes and goes.

Hopefully, I don’t get burned by the fire I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.  Wish me luck,

Dreaming big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General, Intentions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trial by fire

  1. Kristy says:

    Do it. Do it. Do it!!!!!! You will be an amazing instructor!!!!!!! Think of all the experience you’ve got and your interpersonal skills are wonderful! You will be able to influence the next generation. Trust me, it’s a great career!!!

Leave a Reply

