Easter Weekend 2011

Sometimes life puts you in a very strange place.  For the past 19  years, like a lot of  people, I’ve been doing 2 Easter dinners every year.  My ex’s family, celebrates on Orthodox Easter.  Every 4 years this matches ours, this is one of those years, but usually we have 2 dinners at different times. This year I won’t be spending my holidays with my family in Ontario, or my ex’s, instead I’ll be spending it with my PEI/NS adopted family.

This weekend is something I’m really not use to, a house party.  We’re all heading down tomorrow night to a small town just outside of Lunenburg and will stay until monday morning. I’m really looking forward to it, it sounds like there will be a ton of food, there’s a hike planned for sunday morning, (I bought hiking boots for this and my future hikes!) there will be guitar playing and singing and lots of eating, drinking, talking and laughter, I’m sure.

I will miss my cousins, (who I hope will have a great Easter!) I will be thinking of them and know that they’ll be missing me as well.  I’m sure there will be moments of wistfulness for the Orthodox Easters I will no longer be a part of, the traditions that will no longer be in my life. That being said, I am taking “pita” for the weekend, making it today, so some of the food traditions will continue on with me.

The whole point of making this move is to open my life to new experiences and I’m looking forward to embracing them.  No one likes to step outside their comfort zone even though that’s probably the only way to find true happiness. I think back 3 months ago, when I first moved here.  I felt alone, and very scared about what I had done to my life in such a short time span. I had turned everything upside down, even though I knew it was the right thing for me to do, it was also the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  Crawling back to my former life of safety and comfort was incredibly appealing, I had the moving company on speed dial for a while.

I’m glad that I stuck this out, the seasons are changing, I’m making more friends and jobs are starting to appear and my life is settling into a wonderful rhythm.   I’m really looking forward to being with a family this weekend who has included me with open arms, friendship and love.  It really is strange, the places that life takes you but it’s also a wonderful adventure, which I am truly grateful for.

I hope you all have a wonderful long weekend, and spend it in love and laughter.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast!

Samantha

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

