Getting back…….

It has been quite some time since I’ve blogged, it just didn’t feel right.  So much has changed in my life in the past year that it would have really just been me whining.  Now I realize that’s exactly what this blog is about but realistically you don’t want to read about me doing that and quite frankly, I don’t want to write about it. I’m in a better frame of mind now, my life is settling down to a dull roar, or so I keep hoping, and most important, I have more time on my hands now and need something constructive to do with it.

The highlights: I’ve been in Halifax for just over a year now, I’ve been teaching, part time, at a local technical school (film and TV), mainly professional development classes which I’ve really enjoyed but alas, it’s not enough money so I’m on the hunt for bigger and better.  My apartment, which was only a temporary place, has been wonderful and given me the opportunity to get the lay of the land here but at the end of April will be a thing of my past.  Don’t ask me where I’m moving to yet, that depends on the job.  I’ve met some wonderful people and am beginning to have a more stable life here, although I miss my family and friends back in Ontario.  I’ve been adopted by a wonderful family, who have made sure that I am loved and have a place to be for major holidays.  There is a great guy, but it’s complicated and I don’t think you’ll hear much about that here.

I’ve had time in the past year to do some exploring of my new province, not a lot but enough to know that it’s going to be fun.  I’ve taken up hiking and kayaking, even bought hiking boots, a kayak is next. Singing is back in my life (thanks to the great guy) although still just happening at family gatherings and in my apartment, I’m going to have to do something about that at some point.  Now, before you all suggest I join a choir, let me just say this about that….yes it would be great HOWEVER I am WAY to much of a diva to sing with others….(wish I had an emoticon to place here). Not doing as much Yoga as I should be doing but that will come back in time, it always does.

Sleep still eludes me.  I’ve tried everything except prescription drugs, that might have to be next.  What I need is a time release sleeping pill, I don’t have trouble getting to sleep it’s staying that way that’s the problem.  Which is why I’m up at 5am writing a blog. I am getting about 6 -7 hours a night, just not consecutive ones. I’ve tried melatonin, it gave me horrible nightmares, gravol which only works for so long, and now I’m using valerian which doesn’t give me nightmares but puts one weird thing in my dreams a night. I think I’m going to wing it for awhile, try “bare sleeping” without any help see how that works.

At times I really miss my life back in Toronto, it was stable and safe, out here it’s flying by the seat of my pants and a little scary, but isn’t that what life is supposed to be all about? The scary things are what make it worth living.

I hope you’ll start reading again, I’m going to do my best to keep up every day if possible or at least a few times a week so please check back in. I’ll try to get new pictures loaded and included and I might even try that button at the top of the page that looks like I can include music….I’ll have to find out what that entails. It’s a new world here even though it’s part of Canada it really is different from what I’m used to, a whole new adventure which I’m looking forward to.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting back…….

  1. Nikki says:

    Great to see you Blogging again. I’ll look forward to the new posts. x

Leave a Reply

