Women Making Waves

This weekend is the big WIFT-AT, Women Making Waves conference. WIFT for those of you who don’t know is, “women in film and television” this is the Atlantic Chapter.  It started years ago in Toronto, a group of women supporting other women in their endeavors to make great films and TV, and it’s become nation wide (I think maybe it’s even in the US).  I’ve been a member off and on for years, since I’m not a very good joiner it’s been more “off” than “on”.

When I moved here one of the 1st persons (people?), I met was the Executive Director for WIFT, Jan Miller, she immediately had me join and drafted me into helping in this years WAVES conference.  I’ve enjoyed getting to know the women on the committes and tonight marks the end of this years hard work. Well, actually the beginning.

There’s a big reception tonight at the Lord Nelson Hotel with a dinner to follow, and tomorrow the panels and talks begin at MSVU (Mount St. Vincent University), a screening in the evening and then on sunday a brunch panel and an awards ceremony.

I’m not going to be attending everything since the committee can’t give away free passes even to us, I’m going to try to help where I can and do some of the conference that way, I’m looking forward to meeting people in the industry here, maybe I can make a few more job contacts.  If anything else it will be an interesting way to spend my weekend.

Right now, I can hear the rain beating against my windows, I know it always seems to be raining here, better than snow I say. I hope that it lets up for tonight nothing worse than getting all dressed up and then have to trudge through the pouring rain.  Even if it doesn’t it will be a wonderful evening and I’m looking forward to a lovely cocktail party and some mingling, it’s been awhile.

I’ll keep you posted on how everything goes, if you’re in town and want to do something interesting here’s the link for it http://wift-at.com/ come and join us!

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General, WIFT AT and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Women Making Waves

  1. oreneta says:

    Have a lovely time, sounds like an interesting crowd indeed.

Leave a Reply

