Job hunting + Apartment hunting = Stress

Crazy day yesterday, I thought I’d have loads of time to do all the things I needed to do and then I woke up later than expected and that just threw off the entire day.

Good news is that I found a great new walking trail and I think I found a neighbourhood that I’d like to live in.  I also found out that 2 of the jobs that I was hoping would come through didn’t – darn!  So it’s back to the drawing board for me.

Thank goodness I still have a full course load next semester at the school.  The money isn’t great but at least it’s something coming in while I get around to the rest of the places in town and get to know people.

Job hunting is a funny thing, when you’re just starting out it’s getting that 1st job, your foot in the door and having someone give you that 1st break.  What I’m finding out is that 25 years later, in a new city, it’s exactly the same! Full circle! I guess the trick is not to become discouraged.

It doesn’t help that I’m apartment hunting while job hunting, so a little stressful right now.  I’m a firm believer that everything will work out that the perfect job will come up as long as I keep introducing myself to the right people. Every situation I put myself in will get me 1 step closer to finding it.  The apartment thing is a totally different animal for me.

I admit, I’ve been spoiled over the years.  I haven’t had to move around a lot, I think I’ve lived in a grand total of 6 places my whole life so the hunt is a new adventure for me….not entirely sure I like this adventure.  As soon as I can buy a place I’m going to.  Time to settle down and make some roots here and start paying my own mortgage instead of someone else’s.

Well, I’m the one who wanted to try something totally different with my life, to live outside my comfort zone. I’m pretty sure flying by the seat of my pants is definitely outside my comfort zone! I’ll keep you posted on where I end up…..

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General, Moving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Job hunting + Apartment hunting = Stress

  1. oreneta says:

    It’s not dull, living the dream, but it can be a bit…anxious (?) at times, no? Hang in there…….it’ll come together.

    • Break Free says:

      I could use a little more “dull” in my life right now!! I think that might be nice…but then I’d just be craving adventure again so I guess there’s no pleasing me! LOL! thanks for the shoulder!! xo

Leave a Reply

