Thanks!

Thanks to all the new folks who have either pushed the “like” button – which I can never seem to find when I visit they’re blogs, Or have started to follow my post! I really appreciate you taking the time to read what I have to say.

On the subject of “Thanks” yesterday was my last day of school for this semester (the next one starts the first week of April) and the Audio Engineers that I’ve been teaching Career Management to,  are now officially finished school (except for those few straggling projects that need to be handed in).  I decided to end the course with a test/quiz/exam – we never did land on a name and a party as part of it.

I know, a party as part of an exam? Well, the one think I’ve noticed about the students in this school, not just this class, is that some of them really don’t know how to work a room.  Now most of these guys and gals will go on to have jobs with companies and will not have to schmooze for work, however on some level chatting up a prospective client will always be part of what they need to be able to do.

I invited some folks from the school, as well as some outside people that I know, and the students did AMAZING….even the self professed shy ones did great.  I had brought a cake and a fruit platter, coffee and tea and some tunes, which you couldn’t hear and for an hour everyone seemed to have a wonderful time.   The A/C in the building was out so that created something to talk about, since yesterday hit 25 here, and everyone seemed to have no problem finding something to say.

The guys were great, taking care to make sure that there was always coffee on (Thank  you Fabien) and that everything was put away and cleaned up before they moved onto their next APP class.  I really hope that they had  a good time and that they actually learned something from the experience.

My Mom, Dad and Godparents were all Arthur Murary’s Dance Teachers, my “godsister” and I always joke that we knew how to work a room before we were 3.  I forget that a lot of people don’t have this kind of upbringing or coaching and that it IS a learned skill, you are not really born with it, well, we are you just aren’t born with how to us it.

Since my move here to Halifax I find that I am relying on those skills more and more. Trying to find a job and meeting people in this place needs all my powers of “room working” to their fullest.  It does get exhausting sometimes, being “on” all the time but eventually it becomes just part of life and the “work” part of being in a room with a whole bunch of strangers goes away because they become friends and colleagues.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks!

  1. oreneta says:

    I have to confess, I know how to work a room, but I HATE it….HATE IT!!!

    • Break Free says:

      we were all trained from an early age…remember we had to shake hands w/ the teachers before we left at night? and make sure we said good morning when we came in? You’re in the same situation as me, always having to be “on” ’cause you’re not from there – it’s weird not having “old” friends near by – new friends are great and become old friends fast but that “working the room” thing never seems to end!! ugh!

Leave a Reply

