Sundays, Cinnamon Rolls & Stress

It’s raining again, I love the sound of rain. I know you’re all sick of me telling you this but there is something very intimate about the sound.  I’ve loved it since I was a kid.  There are a few favorite places I love to be when it rains, the cottage is one of them, and I’ve found a few others since moving to Halifax, that just make me feel safe.

The end to this weekend was significantly better than last, even though I seem to spend my sundays alone these days I’m filling them. I should be packing my stuff up, I have to move the end of April but since I haven’t found the place I’m moving to I’m not very motivated.

I did go for that cinnamon roll this AM at the market, they are SO good! I was going to take a picture and post it but I forgot until after I’d finished eating it. Oh well, next time!  I try not to let myself go every week since it could become an extremely bad habit, I’m so glad he only makes them on sundays! I went for a long walk to make sure it didn’t stick around my tummy!

I’ve talked before about a writer that I really like, Michael Pollan.  Two of his books are “Food Rules” and “In Defense of Food”.  I find that I really relate to what he’s saying, about getting back to eating whole foods and not process ones, of course on a bad day I still find myself driving through McDonalds for a 1/4 pounder and fries, then hating myself for it afterwards – vicious circle.

Today one of my friends posted a link to a film called “Hungry for Change” http://www.hungryforchange.tv/ which is free to watch until the 31st of March.  If  you have time it really is an excellent film and surprisingly not just about food.  It combines, a whole bunch of the different theory’s going around these days, such as visualization. It’s a bit basic if you’ve been part of a farmers market for any amount of time however if you eat a lot of processed foods, it’s a good thing to watch (there’s no gross parts or animals being harmed, just information).

I’ve been thinking for the past few weeks that I should go back on the Candida diet.  It’s hard to stick to.  Although you end up feeling great at the end the bad habits creep back in and you’re right back where you began.  I thought I’d try to change the way I eat, try to drop sugar out of my diet (not easy when I began my day with a cinnamon roll from heaven! did I mention he makes cream cheese icing for them?!?) concentrate on eating protein, veg and fruit.  Maybe even try to add a bit of yogurt back into my diet – I miss it so much and it’s so good for you – I’ll see how that experiment goes. I like to joke that my Ex got dairy in the divorce (I’m actually allergic to the proteins in dairy), I like them they don’t like me.

This movie just reinforced the theories I’ve been forming in my own brain for the past few years.  How a lot of the food we eat isn’t healthy and how to change what and how we eat.  It still amazes me when friends use package things to make something that I find easy to do from scratch. That being said, I have a boxed chocolate cake just waiting for me to make it….as a matter of fact I think I can hear it screaming my name from the kitchen cupboard (must….resist!).

There are quite a number of books that can tell you all the evils of sugar, comparing it to cocaine and heroin, even this movie does that.  I know that since North Americans have added huge amounts of sugar and sugar substitutes to our diets we have become less healthy and even though we eat more calories we are “starving” ourselves nutritionally. Don’t get me started on margarine!

The movie also links stress, lack of sleep and other triggers to our societies weight gain. I have to admit, I saw myself in a great many of the topics they were talking about.  As I mentioned when I have a crap day, I’m the 1st one to pull into the McDonalds or some equally bad place (they have a cup cake drive through out here….how is that EVEN fair?!?).  The food makes me feel bad, I know it’s going to make me feel bad, both physically and emotionally but I still do it.

I’m going to watch this movie again until they cut me off on the 31st, then I might pony up the cash and actually buy it.  Try to convince myself to become more diligent in my eating habits and change my diet so that I’m not as stressed, with at least that one thing.

Summers coming up so the organic box will come back into my life so the veggie part will be a no brainer, of course they did say in the movie that BBQing is bad for you….sigh, not sure I can cut that out, it just isn’t summer with out a steak on the BBQ.

I’m going to go and listen to the rain and let it lull me to sleep now. I hope you had a wonderful weekend and that your 1st day back this week is a great one.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Food/ Organic / Local, Intentions, Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sundays, Cinnamon Rolls & Stress

    • Break Free says:

      Not sure how inspiring I’m gonna be I’m constantly walking off my crap food…maybe a revisit to the books and watching that movie (without the popcorn this time) might help keep me on track! Thanks for reading and reblogging!

Leave a Reply

