In like a lamb, so you know what it goes out like..

It’s cold here again.  I guess there’s something to that “in like a lion out like a lamb” saying. March came in like a lamb, the tulips, the birds, they all agreed. None of us are happy now! Although it’s a beautiful sunny day today, blue skies, just chilly.

Tuesday was a busy day, full of shredding and reorganizing my desk. I’m going to have 7 classes next semester so I have to make sure that I am as organized as possible.  The rest of this week is dedicated to finding that elusive place to live. I hit the ground running on monday at 830am.  Most of the courses only last for 7 weeks, the other 2 are for 11. I’ve requested to have them on the same day, so if the apartment hunt tanks, I’ll move to the the cottage mid may. That could be fun.  Except I still have to find another job, but one crises at a time.

After I shredded, sorted and organized all the papers on my desk, I decided to treat myself to some sushi.  There is a great place across the street from me (and it’s sister restaurant just 2 blocks west), I called and ordered.  I put on my coat, slipped my bare feet into my shoes and off I went – holy crow! it was really cold outside.   There were white caps on the water in the harbour.  I watched them while I waited for my order.

That was actually fun.  This restaurant, unlike it’s sister eateries, has teppanyaki tables, where the chef comes and cooks your meal right in front of you, complete with knives flying and a lot of yelling. I noticed, as I was waiting, that the chef was letting the customers give it a try.  I don’t think he let them do the knife thing but there they were, chef’s hat on, banging away on something doing a lot of yelling and laughing. Looked like they were having a great time.

As I shivered my way back across the street, a big gust of wind almost blew me away.  It certainly made me doubt my choice of a “raw” meal.  I couldn’t help thinking about that March saying and  how very true it seems to be.

In like a lion out like a lamb….how is it that this particular month has it’s own weather saying? And how come it’s true? I was looking forward to packing up the winter clothes this weekend, starting to get things put away for the move to the new place.  All I want to do right now is stay in my nice warm bed where the electric heating pad keeps me warm and cozy.  Where there are two purring cats, one either side, trying to keep me warm or suck the warmth out of me, I haven’t figured out which one it is yet, maybe it’s a bit of both.

Before we know it, spring will be back and all the hope and promise that it offers will bloom again.  The birds will come out of hiding, the flowers will bloom and we’ll be complaining about how hot it is and “can you believe this heat?!?”.  I’m looking forward to the hot, sticky days, where the sun shines all the time and the wind is warm and carries the scents from the trees, flowers and the neighbours BBQ.  Where Spring morphs into lazy summer weekends, spent at the cottage. Walking the beach, swimming and having G&T hour in the afternoon and long lingering dinners – inside the mosquito tent.  Every season has its battle ground, doesn’t it?

I hope where ever you are you’re keeping warm or that you are someplace that is always warm. I will be spending the next little while on the net finding place to call to inquire to move but I’ll be doing it with the heating pad on!

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Cottage, Food/ Organic / Local, General, Moving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In like a lamb, so you know what it goes out like..

  1. oreneta says:

    OMG! I love me some sushi!!!! Sushi!!!!mmmmmmmmmm…..worth shivering and everything.

Leave a Reply

