New Easter Traditions

Prospect Bay Hike - all the way out to the point and back.

Prospect Bay Hike - Easter 2012

It’s been a busy weekend, full of making new Easter Traditions.  Friday the GG and I went for a great hike out near his place.  The picture is where we hiked out to….right to that point at the very far end.  What a beautiful place! As he says “next stop Ireland” it really is the wild Atlantic Ocean here.  We then went back to his place and had a wonderful evening and a roast beef dinner.  Perfect way to start the long weekend.

Saturday I drove to Truro to see my friend, she, her son and I went for a 2 and 1/2  hour hike up Rogart’s mountain.  I don’t really think it is a mountain but it sure felt like it on the way up. 6.2km, straight thought the most beautiful forests, complete with babbling brooks and mossy trees.   Every so often they had a map which would say “you are here” with no mark…it took us a bit to realize that you had to look for the number attached to the tree then find it on the map, then read the little blurb about the spot.  This mountain was home to quite a number of settlers back in the day, the foundations from their houses, barns and property lines still exist.  It also gave us a great break from “up” to have  moment to just stop.

At the very top of the mountain was a single bench, we sat for a few minutes and admired the views until we heard other hikers behind us braving the squishy trail. It wasn’t to bad but there were some patches of mud as my pants and shoes will attest to.  At the end of the mountain is Sugar Moon Farm.  They have maple syrup products, and a whole restaurant set up to serve..you guessed it..pancakes!  We arrived to late for the pancakes (they close at 5 it was 445) but not to late to bring home some maple syrup, candy and maple butter.  Which was wonderful on my pancakes this morning.

We then headed back to the house to have a meal of seafood stew, filled with mussels, shrimp, scallops and hot peppers that definitely warmed me up! Fortifying me for the drive home to my girls.

I’m beginning to sense a theme to my Easters and I have to admit I like it.   Last years hike was Hurtle Beach in Kingsburg that was wonderful and this year it was Prospect Bay and Rogart’s Mountain.  I don’t think there will be one today as it’s just traditional Easter dinner day but maybe because of that there will be one tomorrow.   The Dingle walk I’ve been doing is up hill so maybe I’ll hit that one and walk off today’s dinner.

This morning, however, I woke up to snow…..SNOW!  It’s supposed to get up to 17 later this week so it’s crazy that it’s snowing out there.  The view out my window is all white, haven’t seen this all season.

Out the window Easter morning April 8th 2012

Out the window Easter morning April 8th 2012

How crazy is that? Also, how cool is it that I’ve just figured out that I can put more than one picture in my post!?  Took me long enough.  This is the view out my window although now it looks like it’s starting to melt.

We’ve decided for today to have a bit of an easter egg theme so I have to find a top to wear that can be considered easter colours…I think I’ll go with purple..I’m sure I have that.

I hope whatever you’re doing for this wonderful long weekend you are having fun and spending time with those you love, I know I am.  Miss my family and friends back in TO, I hope you are having a wonderful Easter, I’m being very well taken care of,  Love You!

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Easter Traditions

  1. oreneta says:

    Happy EASTER!!!! What a beautiful walk that looks like!

    • Break Free says:

      They were both pretty amazing – 1 Ocean & 1 Forest….all I needed was a meadow and I’ll be all set…LOL! Oh well a park will have to do tomorrow! Happy Easter to you as well! xo

  2. Susan says:

    Happy Easter from the Rhodes Corner Macdonald Clan. We are off to Cuba tomorrow and are very excited. It has been a strange Easter not to have any family around. Got to see Dad yesterday on our way to drop Matt off at the airport on his way to Tucson, Arizona. As you can see, we are ready for some heat! Susan

  3. Rachel @Peace, Love, Fabulous says:

    That sounds wonderful…except for the 17 degrees part! It was a balmy 80 degree southern California day here (:
    Happy Easter!

    • Break Free says:

      Hey Rachel, I live on the east coast of Canada (Nova Scotia) and we are on the metric system so that 17 degrees is celsius,, it’s actually about 62 ish degrees Fahrenheit…so really gettinq quite lovely now…spring is definitely on it’s way! Although, I’d LOVE a balmy 80 degrees that’s for sure but that’ll be probably late May or June up here. The SNOW on the other hand is OUTTA control! even we’re not supposed to have that this late in the season….but it’s been a weird one this year!
      Hope you and your Little Hot Men had a great day – hunting easter eggs?!? : )

Leave a Reply

