Just Breathe…..

Today is one of those days where there is so much to do and what seems like so little time I have not idea how I’m going to get it all done….OVERWHELMED!  Realistically, I know, that nothing is so important that it can’t be moved to another day or dealt with quicker than I thought, sometimes just thinking about what has to be done can send you into a tail spin.

Yesterday, I had a conversation with a friend, her son, who’s finishing his engineering degree and was feeling a little discouraged about his final project.  Out came the pep talk about how much he has accomplished on this and how far along he and his group have come since they began this in september.  This led us to begin talking about how we as humans forget how far we’ve come sometimes, and that all of us need a pep talk every so often to remind us how much we have done.

For instance, I didn’t get 1/2 the things on my to-do list done yesterday, however, today is a new day and I have the WHOLE day stretching ahead.  At least part of my list from yesterday will be accomplished by the end of the day.  How much you want to bet what I concentrate on will be what DIDN’T get done?  I actually found myself awake in the middle of the night thinking about things that I can’t do until daytime, so what’s the point in even thinking about doing them when right at that moment there was something I could accomplish?…sleep!  Which as you’ve heard me talk about (a lot) I don’t get much of and I  need!

Along with NO MORE CRAP I’m going to add START LOOKING AT WHAT THE ACTUAL ACCOMPLISHMENTS ARE to my list of spring resolutions.  I did buy new phones, mine had died, I did get some boxes for moving things, I did manage to catch up with 4 friends and email my cousins (couldn’t get them on the phone!).  I cleaned up my kitchen, looked through the cupboards for the things that I can survive with out for the next 2 1/2 months, thought about what I’m going to need to do this.  My moving guy is coming today to bring boxes and give me a quotes for storage and moving.  I’m going to put up signs in the laundry rooms to see if anyone who’s just moved in has moving materials they want to get rid of (recycling is good! not to mention easier on my wallet!).

Even better, today, I am going to try out that new 35 minute Yoga video that I found on my on line yoga studio that I joined awhile ago and don’t use as much as I want to.  I’m going to go for a walk, a good one to get some of this stress out of me and I’m going to do my lesson plans for the rest of the week and through all of this? I am going to BREATHE!!

Everything will get done and solved and not everything can happen at once, just because part of my brain thinks it should.  It will take time to pack up my apartment that I’ve been in for 15 months.  Yes, I have phone calls to the power, internet and phone companies to make, I have to change my mail delivery (and check my mail box which I haven’t done in a week!) and go and talk to the guys at the dealership about my car.  Not all today, or tomorrow since I teach all day but thursday has some time in it and so does friday then there is an entire weekend ahead.  Little bits accomplished each time and before I know it, it’s all done.

Consider what you are panicking about today? Is it worth it?  It will all get done, and if it doesn’t, ask yourself  “what’s the worst that can happen if this doesn’t get done today?” I think you’ll find that the answer for most of us is …… nothing major will happen.  (Disclaimer, I am NOT suggesting you put off everything today, sit around in your jammies and use Pinterest!)

I just have to remember, to stave off the panic attacks?  Breathe….I feel better already.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General, Intentions, Moving, Patience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Breathe…..

  1. Sheila says:

    It helps me if I write things down, so I make a list…I use magnetic memo pads (long shopping list style) that stick to the fridge & the filing cabinet so they are in my face all the time. Of course the list can be updated from day to day, but the TO DO items cannot be taken off the list until they are finished. It gives me a silly little thrill to mark an item off the list with a highliter and a big sense of accomplishment when the page is all yellow! Note to self – I would get the list done sooner if I added avoid Pinterest to the list.
    🙂

  2. oreneta says:

    I love that song…..just breathe……fantastic. I’ll put stuff on a list if it wasn’t there just for the satisfaction of crossing it off. LOVE crossing stuff off a list. LOVE it! Thinking of that, t.a.x.e.s.! EEK!

    • Break Free says:

      Oh man! I haven’t even PUT that one on my list yet….sigh…..just breathe….maybe I should be playing that song right now…I have it on my itouch somewhere! LOL! ok, what I should be doing right this second is NOT checking my email but organizing stuff! LOL!

  3. Sheila says:

    smiling…do you need help with that??

Leave a Reply

