Yesterday……

Yesterday, as many of you know, was my birthday. I’ve been so busy lately with school and packing that I didn’t make any plans.  None, as a matter of fact everyone I talked to this past week had something already planned for friday and it wasn’t with me.  I thought, ok, well this is a perfect opportunity to do more packing.  I did get an invitation to a screening and talk but it was later in the evening and I knew there was no way I’d stay awake for it (getting old! LOL).

I arrived home after school yesterday, exhausted and overwhelmed by the amount of packing I still have to do, and thought, I’m going go over to the Superstore (that’s Loblaws to the folks back in ON) and get myself a piece of cake.  Well, actually I was thinking of a whole cake but that internal argument was ongoing in my brain.  Suddenly, the phone rang, it was my friend Mary, she thought I was going away for the weekend and realized from my posts that I was in town, so out for dinner we went.  Saving me from what could have been a disastrous cake decision.

We went to Il Mercato on Spring Garden Rd. it was lovely. The waiters there are always nice (and cute) and the food is very good.  We had a lovely time, and she had a present for me so I felt very spoiled.  One of the reasons we picked this restaurant is that they have amazing desserts, lots of them cake…..you see where this is going right? I should have taken a picture of the cake display, lots and lots of lovely beautiful cakes and pies and gelatto…..that Superstore cake was banished to the very back of my mind (although rearing it’s ugly head this morning).  HOWEVER I didn’t get my cake!

After Ian, the lovely guy in charge of the dessert department walked me though all the different options, and let me tell you there were a lot of lovely options, I narrowed down my choices to 3.  A Lemon Ricotta Cheese Cake, a Butterscotch pie, or a Lemon Tart…….tough decision, but after a very serious conversation with Ian, it was quite funny how serious it really became, the pie wasn’t butterscotchy enough, the cheese cake was ok if you like cheesecake but the TART, well the TART was the best and his favorite. I took his advice and landed on the Lemon Tart and was not disappointed.

Lemon Tart

Sam’s Birthday Lemon Tart from Il Mercato

I had a lovely evening and was home tucked in bed early enough so that I didn’t fall asleep in my food and embarrass myself.

Thank you to all who took the time to email, call, facebook, send cards or just send me good wishes you made me feel  very loved and special on my birthday.  Special Thanks goes out to Mary for buying me dinner, giving me such lovely gifts and most important, saving me from eating a whole cake!

Today is serious packing day, I have 2 weeks to get it all together, a big dent in the mound of stuff I have accumulated must be made.  It does look like a nice day out there though so I’ll probably end up going out to walk off that lovely dessert from last night, but it was worth every bite.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Food/ Organic / Local, friendship, Moving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yesterday……

  1. oreneta says:

    Walking is always good, and glad you went out for dinner! Blogs are wonderful in so many ways, no?

    • Break Free says:

      yup! I sometimes feel a little silly writing about ME…but so many of my friends tell me how much they like being able to keep up with what’s going on w/ me that it’s worth it to get over being self conscious. ‘sides I think I’ve become a better writer since starting this.

Leave a Reply

