trapped inside

I’ve been trapped inside for most of the day, nope scratch that ALL day.  Between the amount of school work I’m trying to complete and the fact that until 20 minutes ago it was grey and miserable out it seemed like the smart place to be.  The sun is trying to come out, it’s pretty watery but it’s there and the temperature seems to have risen a bit but the breeze off the bay still holds a chill.

I was finishing off an email and all I could hear were the waves hitting the shore so I thought, I’m going to take a break and sit outside for 10 minutes then I’ll start up again with marking. The black flies are out but there doesn’t seem to be a ton of them but you never know with these little buggers they seem to get you when you least expect it.

Yesterday was beautiful I even sat out in my shorts and tank top to get some sun, I think I even burned a little, ah the start of summer where I can go from “white” to “torched” in about 15 minutes.  I had a brief visit with a friend down the beach yesterday, she gave me something to try out on my rug to get the smell out, didn’t work, but I had this really great idea, I’m going to take my rug to the guys who clean out your car, there’s one on the way into Montague and see what they can do.  There was a point where their add said they could get rid of smells..what’s the difference between my area rug and a car? Can’t hurt to ask.

My friend has a beautiful garden, huge, lots of veggies and fruits, I came home with a bag of rhubarb which is now washed cut and in my freezer, and an offer to get some herbs and more rhubarb, which I will do next saturday, I love rhubarb.  I’m going to save some for when the strawberries come in a few weeks.  She has 3 large ducks, Rouen, they look like Mallards but are about 3 times bigger and several chickens.  They all roam her garden snacking on the bugs and hiding out in the underbrush. Last summer she gave me some of their eggs but I just couldn’t wrap my head around them (fertilized being a possibility). At 4pm sharp they are all back in their pens waiting to have the doors closed to keep them safe from the foxes and coyotes that roam the area.

I love my life when I’m here, it’s peaceful and reminds me of the important things that sometimes we take for granted.  I’m not looking forward to leaving the island tomorrow, which if you remember I was having a hard time leaving the city on friday, I guess I like both places.

I need to get back to the rest of my school work, I have 1 course ending this week, then I’ll only have 6 course next week then right down to 2 for the following 3 weeks then off for a couple of weeks. Which sounds lovely but I need to get the car and apartment arranged during that time, sigh, as soon as the big things are solved I can get on with my daily life again.  It will be nice to be settled again.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Cottage, friendship, Gardening, Moving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to trapped inside

  1. oreneta says:

    Fun as island life is, being settled is ultimately more relaxing, isn’t it.

    • Break Free says:

      I’m one of those people that needs the “basics” taken care of, I need to know where my head will be at night. I used to think that was a bad thing wanting to be “safe” but then I realized that I take enough chances that having a “safe” place is what makes me stronger. So NOT a bad thing! So the quick answer is yup, settled is more relaxing! : )

Leave a Reply

