now Thursday

I’m on the ferry heading back to the island.  I managed to test drive one car and get the paperwork on a 2nd one and more importantly, a price.  I’m still going to be able to get all my errands done (return the “extra” pump for the guys and change my PEI library card pin number so I can order on line and do a little bit of grocery shopping).

As is the usual these days, I’ll be doing some school work this week, making a final decision about what car to get and then putting the mosquito tent up.   I also have to start lining place up to rent in Halifax, sigh, I guess I’m mid-crisis now! Last thing is a new or additional job.  Almost there, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel although I’m still not convinced it’s not just the train.

Last night, I went to a family graduation dinner – one of the GG’s nephew’s graduated from Engineering at Dalhousie University and his parents had us over for a celebration dinner.  It was lovely! I stayed to talk to my friends for a while afterwards to catch up then drove back to the house in the fog.  I have to admit, the way I was feeling if my bags had been in the back of my car I would have just continued all the way back to the cottage.  I was feeling a little fragile and extremely tired.  Truth be told, I’m not much better today.

I can see the island from the windows now, there’s still another 45 minutes till we arrive but it’s such a short distance between the two provinces that once you clear the harbour you can see where you’re going to.   I’m on the little ferry, The Holiday Island, the bigger, newer one comes on line for the July long weekend, The Confederation.  I prefer this ferry for some reason.  I love that you can go up top and there are big benches, it’s smaller and easier to navigate around.  I also love that there are picnic tables in the back (or front depending on which direction you’re traveling) in the summer people with dogs tend to gather there.  The bigger ferry has an observation deck, in doors, on the top and the benches are still outside but don’t seem as “summery”.  Although, the bigger ferry has a Cow’s Ice Cream store on it….not that it matters to me, (sometimes I cheat and get a small cone).

It’s probably a good thing that I love the ferry since I’ve been spending so much time on it over the past little while.  The only thing I don’t like about either ferry is the price! oh well, I guess we can’t all be perfect. Happy Sailing!

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Cottage, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to now Thursday

  1. oreneta says:

    Sorry you’re feeling fragile. Get the too the island!!!! The girls will make you feel better instantly.

    • Break Free says:

      funny, that’s why I had such an urge to drive here last night..they do make me feel better…I’m here and they have! although still feeling a little fragile…a good night’s sleep will help I’m sure!! GREAT ADVICE!! xo

Leave a Reply

