things that go bump in the night…..

At 330 this morning, Prairie and I woke up to something going bump in the night.  At first I thought it might be the kids down the beach, they arrived on saturday night and spent the night playing loud music.   However, I usually can’t hear them unless I’m out on the deck.  Noise travels in weird ways here.

Bump Bump Bump and a little drag sound with something metallic added in, what could it be?  I decided to get up and investigate.  I rolled out of my comfy warm bed (with the freshly washed sheets, yum!) threw on my warm sweater, it got really cold here last night and I clearly didn’t have the heat up high enough. I walked into the living room.

There standing on the steamer trunk that I use for a coffee table in the living room was Tabitha.  At first I couldn’t figure out what she was doing then the noise came again and I realized.

Last night before I went to bed I had a small drink of a Bailey’s knock off (Carolan’s which on a complete aside, I’m going to stick to the Bailey’s to drink straight for some reason the Carolan’s doesn’t taste as creamy).  I had put it in one of the small wine glasses I have and Tabitha had decided she wanted to try what was left in the bottom, which wasn’t really anything since I had finished it watching the moon last night.

There she was trying to lick the bottom of the glass out, she had pushed it to the edge of the trunk, the drag, bump and metallic sound.  It’s a good thing I went to investigate when I did or she would have pushed it over on to the floor and the broken glass would have been everywhere.

It took a minute for her to back away from the glass, it always amazes me how bold she is, if she gets caught she tries to fake her way out of it.   I moved the glass to the sink, stepped outside to see the moon for a bit and then shivered my way back to my now cold bed.

This morning, Tabitha is looking a little grumpy and didn’t even put up a fuss when Prairie went over to nuzzle her, she didn’t finish her breakfast and put herself back to bed rather quickly.  She came out about a 1/2 hour ago to snuggle with me and had a very forlorn look on her face (or perhaps I’m just projecting?).

I wonder….can cats get hangovers?  I wonder if she’s learned her lesson or if I’m going to have a rebellious cat on my hands from now on, demanding her share of the Bailey’s when it comes out.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in animals, Cottage, Prairie, Tabitha and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to things that go bump in the night…..

  1. oreneta says:

    Love it, the poor kitty’s hungover! how much was left in there? Not much I assume.

Leave a Reply

