Back from break

Back from my break and I have a lot to share, highlights only I promise.   The past few weeks I’ve been trying to take a break from technology, it hasn’t worked out as well as I thought it would but it also hasn’t been that bad.

I spent a few lovely weeks at the cottage getting tanned and enjoying my time with the girls and the ocean.  I was in swimming on the 30th of June – to the TO folks that won’t be such a big deal considering it was 35 in the shade there but here in the maritimes it was still chilly.

There was a break in at the GG’s cottage, a couple of 20 somethings decided that we’re stupid enough to leave booze in the cottages.  They broke the door down to the little cottage (which was loud enough for me to hear) so out I went to investigate.  I kicked them out using my best “teacher and you’ve pissed me off” voice, promptly got on the phone with the cops, some friends to come to be with me and the GG (’cause it’s his door) and fell apart, (smooth Sam, real smooth!)

I moved into a new apartment, lovely little 1 bedroom just off the rotary.  I’m over looking a little man made lake “Chocolate Lake”.  Before you go into any nasty references, it’s called this because there was a chocolate factory located on the lake at one time (unfortunately, long gone).  Since I’m on the 4th floor and it’s been hot here I’ve been making a point of going for a swim for the past few days.   It’s lovely and cool and for some reason when I swim here my hair looks great after (soft water I suspect!)

The girls are getting used to the new place, tough after 2 1/2 months at the ultra quiet cottage, we’re right on  a main road so there’s traffic pretty much all the time.  Most of the boxes are unpacked and I’m hoping by the end of this weekend I’ll be completely organized which will make my life quite a bit easier.  The positive side? They’re with me, which we all love, there are loads of sun patches, we face south and there is a little balcony. Prairie has already braved a journey out, which surprises me since she’s the real chicken about noises. Tabitha keeps looking but seems to have decided that it’s just to much trouble, I’m sure that will pass at some point.

School started again this week.  I seem to have a great bunch of students this semester and a really good schedule.  I’m going to do a combination of walking to school, which I found out today takes an hour, and taking the bus, which stops just outside my building.  Driving my new car costs way to much to park down town.

Oh, I got a new car! The Benz lease was finished so it had to go back, I dropped it off and picked up a cute 2012 Mazda 3 hatchback (standard), I’m loving it! Weird thing they do here in NS, you can drive off the lot the day you buy the car. They just slap a temporary permit on your back window and you’re all set, the registration happens at some point during the temp time and all I had to do was drop in and have my plates put on.  Amazing!

I have a week of work in a post house coming up, which is great, get’s my foot in the door, so I’m looking forward to it.  Kayaking this weekend (more on that on sunday) and only 1 class today (friday).  All positive things.

I think we’re going to like being here, this building is older but my little apartment is charming and good for us.  Feels like our home away from home, a good place to continue the adventure from.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Cottage, General, Moving, Prairie, school, Tabitha and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back from break

  1. oreneta says:

    Well that all sounds good indeed, so glad that it is working out! Nice to hear from you again too, and glad those guys breaking in didn’t make any real problems for you.

    • Break Free says:

      it’s good to be back! Sorry those pesky mosquitoes are bugging you (couldn’t resist!LOL!) but at least they’ll die soon….ours go for the entire summer out here…sigh! pro’s and con’s of having a cottage by a MARSH! : )

  2. Grace says:

    Hey, your back! All is gone with the world again! Tell me, whats it REALLY that hard not using any tech stuff?? I’m happy you have found a place, got a new car, are healthy and happy and on your way to achieving your next goal….your job.You ARE INDEED following everything you set out to do.
    Its wonderfully, I’m both happy for you and proud of you! xo

    • Break Free says:

      actually I forgot my power cord for my computer last weekend in Halifax and the bill for my wi-fi at the cottage is so high I decided to take a “forced” tech break – while I was at it I thought I’d turn off my phone. Didn’t quite work out the way I planned but it was ok. Also, being at the cottage for 2 1/2 weeks makes for dull posts…except for the “cottage break in” it was really all ocean and good weather! LOL!
      nothing to write home about! : )

Leave a Reply

