Sailing….takes me away…….

On fridays I only have 1 class.  It’s great because it’s only 1 class, but it’s also kind of sucky since it’s right in the middle of the day 1215-315pm.  Yesterday was the 1st day with a whole load of new students who I’ve never taught before and only 3 out of 8 decided to show up.  So, I taught for about an hour and then the 4 of us decided to call it a day.

There I was literary, all dressed up and no place to go.  I was thinking I could wander down to the free tent – the Halifax Jazz festival is on right now see what was playing, I could take myself to a movie, I had already bugged my 2 friends this week who can play hooky.  I could go back to my apartment and finish unpacking and then go for a swim or do a combo of a few of the things above, but then I got a WAY better offer.

One of the guys I work with was going sailing on his boat and invited me.  They were looking for crew and it was a beautiful day and did I want to go? I raced home, harder than it sounds ’cause I chose yesterday to take the bus in, (my 1st taxi ride in Halifax) changed into shorts and a t-shirt and was out the door before the girls even noticed I had been and gone.

It was perfect.  My friend moors his boat at the Armdale Yacht club, which is about a 5 minute drive from my new place, his wife and her 2 friends were already on board waiting for him and he had called ahead and told her he was bringing me with him (although it was a bit of a surprise to her that I was a woman, he had told her he was bringing “Sam” and she thought I was a man).

We didn’t go far or out for long.  We left the dock around 245pm and were back by 545pm. We motored out of the bay and just used the jib to sail. It was deceptively windy out and the boat was heeling over just enough for it not to be to uncomfortable (never have been fond of the looking over and seeing water a foot from my face, apparently his wife isn’t either).  We sailed to Herring Cove and turned around and came back.  It was perfect.

The 2 other women had never sailed.  Thanks to my friend Christine, and her family when I was a teenager, I had done quite a bit of “ballast” work (or as my host like to call it “rail bait”).  It was surprising how comfortable being on this boat was (Chris if  you’re reading this they have a 36′ and it looked like the Aurora but inside flipped around).

A lot of what my friend taught me came back.  Not that I learned much but I was pleasantly surprised that the terminology and the “get out of the way of the people who know what they’re doing” instinct was intact.  I surprised my host when I helped him pull in the jib, that I gave the right amount of tension that was needed and then knew to wrap the line the right way around (clockwise) the winch and how to lock it in.  Again, thanks Chris! I think that may have earned me an invitation back.  That would be cool.

After helping with the clean up I drove home, decided that it was still to hot to be in the apartment so I took myself for a swim in my new favorite swimming hole to cool off.  The only thing that would have made my day better was if I had grocery shopped this week and had some food in the house.

I came back from swimming wondering what I should do, here it’s friday night and I had no plans, really after the day I had, all I wanted to do was go to bed, so that’s what I did.  What a whimp huh?

Today is kayaking.  A group of us bought a few of kayak packages (2 for 1) and we’re using 1 today.  A 4 hour kayak tour around Prospect bay, I’m really looking forward to that, should be a lot of fun.  Maybe a morning hike on sunday, or I could go back to the kayak place and join the yoga/kayak group….the possibilities are endless.

Although, the 1 thing I must do this weekend is get the last of the boxes unpacked and the place thoroughly cleaned, oh, and I still need groceries.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in friendship, General, school and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sailing….takes me away…….

  1. oreneta says:

    YIPEE!!!!! So glad you had a lovely sail and managed it so well! The kayaking sounds marvelous too….jealous about that one, I have a day of errands in the city then a late night….I would have gone to bed too…mmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

