It’s a funny thing….

I woke up the morning…around 430 am and realized that it has been a VERY long time since I posted something on my blog my last post was the beginning of last August.  Apparently, I can’t be relied on to do a consistent post.  I’m not even sure I have anything interesting to post about, I’ll let you be the judge of that.

The last few months of last year were not very happy ones for me so blogging was the last thing on my mind.  This year I’ve started a “happiness jar” and everyday I try to put something in that makes my day happy.  I started this because I’m sure that 2012 wasn’t as bad as I think it was, there must have been  moments that made it a good year, I just can’t remember them. So, the jar is my way to try to feel the good in the year.  New Years eve day, I’ll open the jar, read the little papers and see the beautiful moments of 2013, it will be an interesting experiment.

I’ve been told that it takes 2 years living here before you settle down and things start moving smoothly.  It is the middle of February and things do seem better this year already.  The girls are both fine, although Tabitha is getting a little fragile and bossy, Prairie has been concerned about me and spends quite a bit of her time snuggled up beside me.  I’m still part time teaching but I have a small contract with an arts centre that I’ve just started (there will be more on that later) which I’m looking forward to working on.  Hopefully, there will be more opportunities during this year.

I closed the cottage down the middle of November and it’s almost time to open it again.  I did something I don’t usually do in the winter and went over for a visit.  I spent a few days with my friend Ruth, from down the beach, she lives there year round.  The plan was to take my spring tires to the cottage for storage but there had been a dump of snow and there was no way to get down the drive way so the tires are spending a few months in Ruth’s basement.

Walking down the snowy drive way I disturbed a huge young eagle that took off from the top of my cottage with breakfast in it’s claws, it was beautiful (that went into the jar).  My nice little warm cabin felt lonely and cold.  I felt like I had disturbed someones long slumber, they were happy to see me but just wanted to sleep.  I left my little cottage in the cold snow, spring will be here soon enough and the warm ocean breeze and the sound of the  waves will start again, along with the ever present mosquitoes.

The apartment is good, the walls are paper thin and the noise from the road can be bad, I sleep with ear plugs now.  But it faces east and I get to start my days with my tea watching the sun rise, which is a beautiful way to start any day.

I’ll try to be more faithful to writing, I hope you’ll read and comment.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in animals, Cottage, Happy, Intentions, Prairie, Tabitha and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s a funny thing….

  1. Nikki says:

    More details on the new contract very soon please 🙂 Love the Happy jar idea.

  2. Grace says:

    Hey Sam, welcome back! I really enjoy reading your blog. Sharing your thoughts, ideas, lifes experiences is often very hard for some of us. You put it beautifully in writing. I LOVE the happiness Jar idea. I think I will start one too. Thanks Love Grace

    • Break Free says:

      Thanks Grace it feels good to be back although a little scary…the jar is working out so far but of course the year is young! LOL! I think you should start one as well..you could start today and go to next valentines day then have a day of opening chocolates and reading your year…hummmm maybe I’ll do that next time!:) talk later….Sam

  3. oreneta says:

    Lovely to hear from you again! The happiness jar does seem a good idea, to get in the habit of recognizing the wonderful in our lives, no?

Leave a Reply

