Giving in….

Just the beginning....

Just the beginning….

I gave in this weekend, I didn’t want to….I’ve been fighting it but it finally caught up with me and I admitted defeat.  I’m talking about fuzzy eye sight.  I had an appointment with the eye doctor a few years ago, he told me to come back and see him when my arms were to short….yup, they are officially to short.

It seems like the beginning of the end to me, not the glasses, I actually like them.   I remember as a kid always wanting to have a pair since a few of my friends did and they always looked so smart, I was young and impressionable what can I say? Good thing I wasn’t swayed in the same way by smoking. This just marks that I’m getting older and that this is just the start of “things that begin to fall apart”.

I should mention that this is a total pride thing for me, I’ve always been the one with the great eyesight so right now I’m just being a baby about this.  I’ve always found that glasses worn by the right person are incredibly sexy.  My Ex had a very high prescription and we were forever getting new contacts and frames for him, I learned quite a bit about the whole glass industry.  Another friend wears glasses and I find that when he does that peering over the top of them thing that people do, it’s very hot. So, I like glasses, even on me I like them, it’s just the realization that I’m getting old that is the problem.

It started subtly, when I’d pick the cat up her face would become really out of focus the closer she would get to my nose, then the letters in the books I was reading seemed to be really really small.  Then reading the directions on packages started to become annoying “why are they writing this so small?” and “what are they thinking using that colour as a background?”.  Two weeks ago I was having a drink with a friend and she whips out these little reading glasses to read the menu, she passed them over to me and lo and behold the menu snapped into focus, which was good since what I thought I was going to order wasn’t what I thought it was, saved the day!

I gave in, went to Shoppers tried on a few pairs ($35 dollars?!? are you kidding? for drugstore glasses?) found a $15 dollar pair in 1.25, the lowest one I could find, caved and bought them.  They’re taking some getting used to, but already I’m appreciating that I can read the backs of packages and I don’t have to put my book half way across the room just to read the title.

I am a little worried that the more I use them the weaker my eyes will become and the faster I’ll be into higher prescriptions but I guess I’ll burn that bridge when I get there. Strangely, I don’t need them for the computer just books etc not sure why but I’m sure that will catch up to me at some point.  Until then I’ll happily read the books I’ve taken from the library and the directions on how to cook something with a grain of salt, chalk it up to getting older and better… maybe I’ll be lucky and look sexy in my glasses as well, I can only hope.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Giving in….

  1. oreneta says:

    You hung on longer than me, I caved last year!!!

  2. Nikki says:

    LOL! Welcome to the club that I’ve been in for over 20 years!

  3. Sheila says:

    There is no going back now, this is just the beginning and like rabbits your readers will multiply! Next an extra pair will appear at your bedside, in the kitchen, at your desk, in your handbag, in your car….and a spare pair as backup, just in case!
    I gave in years ago and have them stashed everywhere! Most days now I have a pair perched on my head ready to drop down when I need to read the fine print of something. The drugstore selections are generally not great but the good news is that there are some great fashion readers available and many designers offer them. Check out Winners & Marshalls etc….I recently found a set of three really funky coloured pairs for $7 in TJ Maxx 🙂

    • Break Free says:

      for some reason Sheila this didn’t make me feel better! LOL! Thanks for the advice on where to find cheap ones…I know that you can get 3 packs at Costco for a very good price..I have a pair at the cottage from a pack my Ex bought…I think they’re for when I want to “level up”. (you’ve been in the US to long you know we don’t have Marshalls or TJ Maxx here! : ) )

Leave a Reply

