Rediscovering Hill 100

Herring Cove Hill 100 HIke

Herring Cove Hill 100 HIke

It is beautiful today, the sun is shining, it’s warm out, balmy even, the perfect day to go for a hike.  Lately I’ve been revisiting some of the places I found when I first moved here, and finding more than I expected.

In February 2011 I visited a place called “Hill 100”  just outside of Herring Cove.  I returned there a few times because the view is so wonderful.  You can see the open ocean as well as bits of the main land it sits about 50 feet above the water so you can hear the waves crashing on the rocks below.  What I didn’t realize was there are paths that run along the shore, someone may have mentioned them to me at one point but I haven’t been back to check them out …. until today.

A few weeks ago I discovered the paths at York Redoubt a heritage sight here.  When I was originally told to go there I thought the appeal was the fort itself, but then reading my “Halifax Hiking book” I realized there are actual walking paths that run by the ocean so I headed out to find them and to my amazement there they were.  Lovely paths that run through a beautiful forest and end at a cliff with the crashing waves below.

Today, I decided that I’d had enough of my usual walking path and headed out to York Redoubt, but when I got there it just didn’t seem right so I continued on to the small fishing village of Herring Cove.  It really is a lovely little village, exactly what you would think an east coast fishing village should look like but with an upscale makeover done to it.  On  my way back I thought I’d just go back to York Redoubt I still needed to walk in the beautiful day.  As I was driving I realized that I would be going past Hill 100 so I pulled in.

Crashing waves at Hill 100 Herring Cove hike

Crashing waves at Hill 100 Herring Cove hike

As I was getting ready to get out of my car to go to the edge of the cliff to see the waves, I noticed a person on the rocks below and to the right of where I was standing.  I watched him walk up a small path and though to myself, “small path? where did that come from?”.  So I headed down it…best decision I made all day, there is a small path that winds it’s way up the rocks right along the ocean, the path is still icy in some places and there is still snow, but the rocks are clean and sturdy.  I walked for awhile, not sure how long I forgot to turn on my timer, I stopped and took some pictures, sat in the sun on a warm rock lifted my face into the warm sunny breeze and took a deep breath of spring.  It was glorious!

I’m going to head back another day and go a little further on the path,  I wasn’t very prepared to do this walk today (I left my mitts in the car although truth be told I really didn’t need them).  I’ll head back soon with some water, a small picnic and my mitts (if needed) and hike a little longer this time.

Coast Guard boat heading out for excercises

Coast Guard boat heading out for excercises

It is moments like this that I remember why I made the decision to move here.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in fitness, General, Hiking, Ocean and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rediscovering Hill 100

  1. oreneta says:

    Sounds utterly LOVELY!!!!!

    • Break Free says:

      it was beautiful…not quite your mountains and no where NEAR the time you go for walks (I am in awe of you!) but a wonderful walk all the same, some much needed “healing” ocean time.

  2. Sheila says:

    Sounds like a lovely time spent in a lovely spot…pics are fab!
    Walking is such simple but great exercise…beginning in the new year Richard & I started setting out early in the mornings and walking a couple of miles around the neighbourhood lake. It is so quiet & peaceful as the sun comes up and the walk leaves us feeling refreshed & energized to begin our day….however, we will have to see how it goes once the summer sauna temperatures arrive, the sticky & sweaty walkers may end up adding an early morning swim in the pool to their routine 🙂

Leave a Reply

