Lovely start to the long weekend

Neighbours Canoe in the trees across from my apartment

Neighbours Canoe in the trees across from my apartment

I’m sitting outside on my deck drinking my 1st cup of tea of the day.  There’s still ice on Chocolate Lake (appropriately named for this weekend) and small piles of snow dotting the sides of the road.  There are no leaves on the trees yet but the birds are out in full force.  The blue jays have returned, loudly, the crows, of course, have been here all along and the little birds I’m not sure where they’ve been but they’re singing up a storm.  The sun is shinning and it is a very warm day.

Chocolate Lake still covered in ice March 29th/13

Chocolate Lake still covered in ice March 29th/13

What an excellent start to a long weekend.  I have no formal plans for this time, there is still a bit of marking left to do, and I really should run the duster and vacuum around my apartment (not to mention clean the bathroom!).  I thought I’d play the rest of it by ear.  Do a little ocean side hiking maybe, there is a giant garage sale tomorrow at the exhibition grounds – could be some good treasure hunting.  I have bread rising in the kitchen, my “cottage” playlist playing softly on the stereo.  Every so often I can smell the lavender oil from the diffuser in my bedroom, waft out to where I’m sitting, almost smells like there’s a garden full  of it right here.

Comfy spot to sit, read and watch the sun rise

Comfy spot to sit, read and watch the sun rise

The forecast for the weekend is sunny and warm – up to 7 (that’s centigrade for those of you in the US – read warmish!) and with the sun beaming into my apartment the girls are having a lovely time sitting and having their baths in the patches of warm light.  Times like these are my favorite, just listening to the birds drinking my tea, having a new decorating magazine to read (1 of the smartest things I’ve ever done with points!) and just being quiet.

I hope you’re having a lovely start to the day and weekend where ever you are.   Happy Easter, and may the easter bunny bring you lots of good chocolate.

Dreaming Big from the East Coast,

Samantha

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lovely start to the long weekend

  1. oreneta says:

    Hope you have a lovely weekend too!

Leave a Reply

