Rain

I’m one of those annoying people who actually likes rain. It’s not because the “garden” needs it, I like the way it smells, the way it cleans everything off, the way it makes the day seem cozy.  I used to drive my mother nuts, every time it rained I would remark how much I love the rain and that I’m sure I must have been born during a rain storm – she used to assure me that it wasn’t the case but I’m not convinced…..

I woke up to rain this morning, much to my husbands disgust.  He doesn’t feel the same way towards rain that I do, as a matter of fact I’d say he dislikes it heartily, it makes his hair go frizzy.  The only problem I have with a “rain day” (or a good snow day) is that I don’t actually want to do any work I just want to curl up in front of the TV and watch a movie or with a good book and dream the day away,  preferably with a cat curled up beside me.

What I do miss are the thunderstorms we used to get when I was a kid, like everything else, even thunderstorms seem to be less impressive these days – do you remember the lightning we used to get?  When it flashed you’d count, 1 Mississippi, 2 Mississippi, 3 Mississippi, until you heard the thunder roll?  Every Mississippi was a mile, so you could tell you how many miles away the storm was.  There was always the chance that the electricity would go out you’d frantically run around looking for the flashlights and candles – that was always fun for the first little while then when you realized that your favorite tv show was on that night …….not so much fun anymore.

Although we don’t seem to get these storms here in Toronto anymore, we do still get them at our cottage in PEI.  Our cottage is so little I worry about it, never mind that it’s been there for 30 some odd years and been perfectly fine, I panic a little when it starts to storm like the old days.  We’re on Bullfrog power out there, originally we thought it would be a bad thing to have the whole cottage powered by electricity but then Bullfrog natural power came to the coast and now we’re golden – we have this in TO as well it’s a little more expensive but worth it to use solar, wind and water power and to not leave a carbon foot print in either of our homes.  

When the power goes out at the cottage everything is down including the heat. That’s not what worries me in a storm there, the cottage is surrounded by 50 foot trees and I’m always having nightmares that one of them will fall and hit something we’ve just repaired.  For 30 years none of the trees have hit the cottage when they’ve come down but Murphy’s law states when you fix something THAT’S the time something will to go to hell in a handbasket!

I’m glad of rain, it washes everything clean and makes it brand new, makes everything green and fresh smelling and it’s good for the garden!

Enjoy your rain days,

Samantha

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Rain

  1. Mary Anne says:

    I feel the exact same way about rain – I love it. The world smells and feels different after a rain storm, everythng is fresher, cleaner, lovely. I also feel it is an invitation to curl up with a good book, relax and totally enjoy the day. Sometimes, to be honest, I am almost disappointed when the sun comes out, its like I have to get back to regular life once again. Nice to know that someone else feels the same way.
    Mary Anne

Leave a comment